Skip to Main Content View Text-Only

The City of Portland, Oregon

Portland, Oregon

Welcome to the official web site of the City of Portland, Oregon

General Information: 503-823-4000


1221 SW 4th Avenue, Room 110, Portland, OR 97204

More Contact Info

Subscribe to RSS feed

Most Recent

View Less

PSC News: Akasha Lawrence Spence, Oriana Magnera, and Steph Routh confirmed to Planning and Sustainability Commission

At its Wednesday, May 22 morning session, City Council confirmed the appointments of Akasha Lawrence Spence, Oriana Magnera, and Steph Routh to the Portland Planning and Sustainability Commission. 

Akasha Lawrence Spence is the founder of Fifth Element, a conscientious real estate development firm, whose goal is to rectify wealth inequity by acting as an incubator for economic growth and sustainability in historically under-represented and marginalized communities. She was also the founder and chief executive officer of HYMN Space, a place and space for seasonal markets, artist fundraisers and community-making.

Oriana Magnera is the climate and energy policy coordinator at Verde, a local nonprofit that serves communities by building environmental wealth through social enterprise, outreach and advocacy. She serves on the board of the Oregon Solar Energy Association and the Energy Trust of Oregon Renewable Advisory Council and is a member of the National Association for Climate Resilience Planners. She has also been involved with the housing advocates Portland for Everyone.

Steph Routh owns a consulting firm and is temporarily working with the Office of Community and Civic Life. Formerly, she was the first executive director of Oregon Walks and the communications and marketing manager for the Community Cycling Center. Steph has been a member of numerous Portland boards and committees, including the Jade District Policy & Equity Committee, ODOT Region 1 Area Commission on Transportation, and the PBOT Budget Advisory Committee.

As Mayor Ted Wheeler prepared to vote, he expressed appreciation for the new commissioners taking on yet another civic role for the community. And he tipped his hat to reappointed commissioners Katie Larsell and Eli Spevak. “I’m excited for what your work will mean to the city,” he said.

The new appointees’ terms will run from June 1, 2019, through May 31, 2023. Their first meeting as PSC members will be on June 11, 2019.